iHeartBible: Proverbs 3.7

Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord and depart from evil.
                                                                       Proverbs 3:7 (KJV)
I Heart Bible

the readings!

Today is the first day of the iHeartBible challenge! This month myself and others will be committed to blogging everyday through the month of February on specific Bible verses.

I confess that I have neglected my love of blogging and my love for Scripture recently, so I’m so pumped to get back into it!

If you decide you want to join us, feel free to steal this image and start blogging! (Also, click on the image to be directed to the founder’s site! She has more info about it!) You don’t have to start today, just whenever you feel led!

Enough of introductions and what not….back to the verse!

Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the Lord and depart from evil. 
 Proverbs 3:7 (KJV)

1) I love the KJV, 2) I never thought I’d say that.

Some clarification, I’m currently in a class on the Bible as Literature and our professor essentially assigned us the entire King James Version to read in 12 weeks. And I think it’s fantastic.

But I digress.

My initial response to this verse was to focus on what occurred after the colon: fear the Lord and depart from evil.

Fear the Lord….I’ve always struggled with that phrase. I’ve never wanted to fear God because I was always taught that God loves me and cares for me and wants to take away pain in my life, not cause it. But over time I’ve come to realize that fear has more than one meaning.

In the Oxford English Dictionary the word fear has many many meanings. I looked up fear as a verb and found that in 1611(the year the KJV was published) the word fear was used to mean: “To regard with reverence and awe; to revere.”

Revere God…Be in awe of God. That I can do.

Depart from evil.

Also doable. I mean it’s easier said than done. There is alway a lot of wrong in my life, but everyday I ask God to make me more like Him in my words and actions.

So….fear the Lord and depart from evil.

Got it.

Be not wise in thine own eyes.

Erm…okay.

This is the part that makes me uncomfortable.

I want to seem wise. I want to be wise.

I understand what the verse is saying… Don’t focus on what you think is right and good, but look to God and His wisdom.

That’s all well and good, but the language goes deeper than that. It goes so far to say that I shouldn’t even think I am wise. I need to be fully dependent on Christ. For everything. All the time.

Well that’s problematic….because I don’t always do that.

Because I’m a strong, independent woman who likes to think that she can do anything she puts her mind to.

And I can be that.

With God’s guidance.

I pray God that You make me more like You. I pray that you give me reminders to seek out Your wisdom instead of the wisdom of the world. I pray that I will stand in awe of Your glory and leave behind the sin of the world. Amen

One thought on “iHeartBible: Proverbs 3.7

  1. Pingback: iHeartBible | Proverbs 16:9 | Stay Smiling!

Thoughts? Questions? Tell me!

