iHeartBible | Colossians 3:23

The context for today’s passage falls under the heading “Rules for Christian Households” according to the English Standard Version (ESV).Image

18 Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. 19 Husbands, love your wives, and do not be harsh with them. 20 Children, obey your parents in everything, for this pleases the Lord. 21 Fathers, do not provoke your children, lest they become discouraged. 22 Bondservants,[f] obey in everything those who are your earthly masters,[g] not by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord. 23 Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ. 25 For the wrongdoer will be paid back for the wrong he has done, and there is no partiality.

I love this verse because of it’s context. After addressing each category of household members (wives, husbands, children, and slaves) Paul goes on and says basically “No matter what you do, whatever your profession, do it with all of your heart! Do it as though you are working for the Lord and not for a human being because you know that you’ll be a child of God as a result. That’s reward in an of itself. You are serving the Lord Jesus Christ!” 

This is a verse I need to remember more often…I have a tendency to get a “holier-than-thou” attitude at times. Especially towards my loving husband when I’m exhausted and/or frustrated. I need this verse to remind myself that when I submit to my husband – that is put his good judgement and leadership ahead of my own pride, I am also serving the Lord. 

I’m so blessed by this passage today….It is definitely speaking words of encouragement to my heart this afternoon. 

 

Thoughts? Questions? Tell me!

