iHeartBible | Proverbs 16:9

“The heart of man plans his way,
but the Lord establishes his steps.” – Proverbs 16:9 (ESV)

Solomon was the wisest guy around in his day. I mean literally…I don’t mean he was a “wise guy” but he was in fact a wise guy. I’m not making sense.

Anyways….

This verse can either infuriate or comfort me depending on what’s going on in my life at the time.

Today it is comforting. 8442426502_ecb5bb18e7_b

Notice how the verse uses the word heart and not mind. Fleeting emotions instead of logic and wisdom. I like knowing that I get to plan my life however I want it, but that in the end, God is going to make sure I get to where He wants me to be. That may or may not look like how I originally thought how I wanted my life to look, but I can rest knowing that God has a really cool plan for my life and that he will “establish [my] steps” how He sees fit.

I’ve done some dumb shit in my life. (Pardon the language, but it’s necessary in this sense.)

And I mean like really dumb.

One such instance was when my stubborn pride caused me to almost walk into a marriage with a guy who was abusive and hateful just to spite those closest to me. I wanted so desperately to be right- to prove that I was independent and that I made my own choices- that I almost made the most idiotic decision of my life. But I didn’t.

And I only walked away from that so called “relationship” because God stepped in. It was almost like God was saying, “Okay…I let you do your own thing for awhile. You’ve done some damage. But I will not let you through your life away. And because I love you, I’m going to allow certain events unfold that will cause you pain. But in the end, that pain will bring you back to Me.”

I’m not a believer in divorce. For me there are only 2 things that are viable reasons for getting one: physical abuse (mine was emotional) and adultery.

It just so happened to come to pass that my ex ended up cheating on me.

So, even though it was incredibly painful….I ended the relationship.

I had all these “plans” for my life; I knew what I wanted. Or at least I thought I did.

But God knew better, and he directed my path so that my life would align with His will. A few months after that fiasco, I met the man who would become my husband! And I could not be more happy with how that worked out!

God has a really neat plan.

You have a really neat plan.

But we are not reliable sources of wisdom (see my post from a couple days ago). Only God is.

Let Him work in your life.

You won’t regret it.

So today I will continue to allow God to direct my paths and also to continually align my plan with His plan.

One thought on “iHeartBible | Proverbs 16:9

Thoughts? Questions? Tell me!

