Dare to be Humble | iHeartBible

I had an interview today with a technology company to write some operator manuals for them. It went really well, which I am thankful for, but I did remember one thing about myself today. Image

I hate interviews. 

I really hate selling myself and my qualifications to people. I feel like I’m bragging and my parents always taught me that I shouldn’t brag about my abilities. 

So interviews aren’t exactly my niche. 

I feel like Brendan Fraser in the little known, but well loved movie: Bedazzled. What he wants is a good thing, but selling your soul to the devil is not exactly the best way to obtain it. I didn’t sell my soul to the devil, I just signed on the metaphorical dotted line to write a few manuals. Either way though, my palms were sweaty and my heart rate was up. 

My minute, day-to-day anxieties are not the kind that are being discussed in this passage. Not that they don’t apply, but the author of the passage is really referring to life-altering, ground-breaking, riot inducing anxieties. 

Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

Humble yourselves, therefore, un

der the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. Resist him, firm in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world. 10 And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.

Humility in this day and age seems to be a lost art. People are rebuked for humility. They are told that they are not powerful, driven people if they esteem themselves lower than another – to give credit where credit is due. But to be truly humble is to be truly free.Humilityis marked “by the absence of self-assertion or self-exaltation.” (Oxford English Dictionary) God wants us to stop asserting ourselves and puffing ourselves up. He wants us to just glorify him so that one day He may tell us: “Well done, my good and faithful servant.” But He knows that this isn’t always going to be easy so he desires that after we have humbled ourselves, to throw our worries, cares, concerns, etc onto Him because He loves us. 

However, don’t take this verse too far and read into what is not there. 

Noticeably absent is the statement that says that if we are humble and cast our cares on Him that He will take our hurt and pain and worries away because He loves us. It does not say this. It actually says that there will be suffering, and that this same suffering is known to all Jesus followers around the globe.

But there is a glorious hope, that after we have suffered for a while the most High God will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you. 

I don’t want this post to come off as to never be self asserting, especially in the job sector, but there is a way to be humble. And that is to give all the glory to God. 

Stay Smiling!

Thoughts? Questions? Tell me!

